Jacob Zinn :: journalist + photographer

Will Ferrell in four words

Posted in Observations, TV & Film by Jacob Zinn on June 19, 2009

The website Four Word Film Review is like the Twitter of film review sites. It emphasizes using a maximum of four words to make an extremely general summary of a film.

The idea isn’t to accurately describe the plot of the film in four words. It’s really just a way to waste some time on the net.

Having seen many of Will Ferrell’s films (mainly his work in the Frat Pack), I’ve taken a few and found some four word reviews, adding one of my own to each.

Will Ferrell FWFR

'Did you just grab my ass?'

A Night at the Roxbury (1998) – Steve Butabi

Brothers denied sex repeatedly.
Saturday Night Live Fever.
Virgins with neck spasms.

My Review: Cover covered clubber brothers.

'I invented the piano key necktie, I invented it!'

Zoolander (2001) – Mugatu

Breakdance fights, gasoline plights.
Gas fight ignites, Wham!
War of the poses.

My Review: Really, really ridiculously ridiculous.

'We're going streaking!'

Old School (2003) – Frank Ricard

Ferrell bares self, sole.
Inferior adult “Animal House.”
Will streaks, goes feral.

My Review: Old frat, old farts.

'Discovered by the Germans in 1904, they named it San Diego, which of course in German means a whale's vagina.'

Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy (2004) – Ron Burgundy

Anchorman’s poor erection coverage.
KVWN newsroom’s a zoo.
Will is news (w)anchor.

My Review: Veronica Corningstone turns Burgundy.

'The room's startin to spin real fast... cause of... cause of all the gayness.'

Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (2006) – Ricky Bobby

Ferrell’s Daze of Thunder.
Frenchy Cohen bugs NASCAR.
Ricky loves ‘Baby’ Jesus.

My Review: Rednecks rubberneck car wrecks.

'Nancy Kerrigan. You an official here? Cause you've officially given me a boner!'

Blades of Glory (2007) – Chazz Michael Michaels

Kerrigan, Harding go male?
Skaters no longer haters.
Will, but no grace.

My Review: Skin-tight on thin ice.

'Everybody panic! It's just like the Titanic but it's full of bears!'

Semi-Pro (2008) – Jackie Moon

Jive turkey = ultimate insult.
Ferrell courst the NBA.
Semi-Pro and mostly nonsense!

My Review: Jackie’s over the Moon.

'Sticks and stones may break my bones, but I will kick you repeatedly in the balls!'

Step Brothers (2008) – Brennan Huff

Forty-somethings’ juvenile sibling rivalry.
Immaturity joke: feature length?
Step-bros out of step.

My Review: Super Ferreilly Bros.

Bonus Review

'Can I just get two more weeks?'

The Landlord (2007) – Renter (uncredited)

My Review: Foul-mouthed girl extorts rent.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rocky in four words « From J to Z said, on June 22, 2009 at 3:46 PM

    […] TV & Film by Jacob Zinn on June 22, 2009 To go with my review of the Rocky series and the Will Ferrell four word film review, this is the Rocky FWFR. Enjoy. Rocky […]


Comment!

