Jacob Zinn :: journalist + photographer

Edge Retires from the WWE

Posted in Editorial, Sports, Wrestling by Jacob Zinn on April 12, 2011

The WWE had never had such an unexpected retirement announcement.

Yesterday night on Monday Night RAW, Edge (real name Adam Copeland) announced that a severe injury has forced him to give up his illustrious 13-year professional wrestling career. Last Monday, the 37 year-old was diagnosed with cervical spinal stenosis, a narrowing of the spinal column near his C5, C6 and C7 vertebrae that he had fused in 2003. At the risk of paralysis, or even death, he will never be cleared to wrestle again.

The Rated-R Superstar gave his retirement speech before a Connecticut crowd and a worldwide audience watching at home. He detailed his extensive 2003 surgery to his spine:

“Because of that surgery, I knew that I was wrestling on borrowed time,” said Edge.

It was only last Sunday that Edge defended the World Heavyweight Championship at WrestleMania XXVII in Atlanta, Georgia. Now the 11-time champion has to drop the title belt and abruptly end his title reign.

Edge was slated to defend the title against Alberto Del Rio in a ladder match at next month’s Extreme Rules Pay-Per-View. The WWE was also teasing a reunion of Edge & Christian, a tag team that Edge started with Christian, his best friend, and a potential title match between the two. In the late ’90s and early 2000s, they captured World Tag Team Titles seven times.

With sudden retirement weighing on Edge’s mind, it was Christian who helped him accept the new reality.

“I was upset, too, because I didn’t feel like I was ending this on my terms,” said Edge, “but he reminded me that I’ve competed my whole career on my terms.”

Edge reportedly still wants to work with the WWE in some capacity. Currently, there may not be positions as a commentator, but I’m certain that the vast majority of the WWE Universe would rather have Edge replace the current anonymous RAW General Manager.

It’s unclear what the WWE will do with the vacant title. In honour of Edge, I feel Christian should win it at Extreme Rules against Del Rio in a ladder match (or TLC, if they really want to pay their respects).

Wrestlers Pay Tribute to Edge

Christian: I’ve shed my tears… And from here on out, I choose to celebrate one of the greatest careers in WWE history… I can’t wait to induct you in the Hall of Fame.

Matt Hardy: Heard Adam is retiring because of physical issues that won’t allow him to safely continue wrestling. He’ll be missed, we’ve certainly had our fair share of issues… both good and bad. But I tip my hat to Edge who is one of the greatest I’ve ever been in the ring with. Adam resides in North Carolina now–I’m sure I’ll run into him down the road. Glad that him and I are in a good place. We came in as friends and went out that way.

Mick Foley: A sad day for wrestling, but what an amazing career for Edge. I was so fortunate to have been his opponent, his partner, his friend.

Chris Jericho: Edge is a great performer and one of my favorite opponents. He’s also got an incredible MIND for the business. Congrats on an amazing career.

Kurt Angle: It’s sad to see my friend Edge retire from WWE. Edge was one of the best. Your fans will miss you dearly. I know I will. Love you, Edge!

Shannon Moore: Yeah my wife told me about Edge turning in his boots last night. I’m happy that he knows when the ring is a danger. You guys remember that wrestling is a business to us and luxury to you. Edge will do great in his next steps of life. Thank you Edge for all the bumps and bruises that you put your body through. You were one of the best in the ring.

Joey Styles: In wrestling you make many acquaintances and few friends. Edge is a friend. My friend, seeing you was always a pleasure and never a chore.

Jim Ross: Edge will always be one of my favorites. I’m so grateful I was in a role to help him launch his WWE dream. Dreams do come true. Edge = HOF!

Kevin Nash: the loss of Edge is a sad day for the WWE. Great in ring, but such a special guy out. He still has years left to give.

Paul Bearer: Wishing Edge the very best. What a outstanding gentleman and friend, notwithstanding a fine athlete and performer.

Tazz: Edge, one of the GREAT guys in the business. Awesone talent and awesome guy! I live the numbness in arms due to neck issues also, scary. Be well bro.

Edge’s Best Matches

Edge is a 7-time World Heavyweight Champion, 4-time WWE Champion, 12-time World Tag Team Champion, 2-time WWE Tag Team Champion, 5-time Intercontinental Champion, 1-time United States Champion, 1-time Royal Rumble Winner, 1-time King of the Ring Winner and 2-time Money in the Bank Winner. Below are just a few of his greatest matches in the WWE.

WrestleMania 2000 – Triangle Ladder Match – The Dudley Boyz VS Edge & Christian VS The Hardy Boyz

SummerSlam 2000 – TLC I – The Dudley Boyz VS Edge & Christian VS The Hardy Boyz

WrestleMania X-Seven – TLC II – The Dudley Boyz VS Edge & Christian VS The Hardy Boyz

SmackDown!: May 24, 2001 – Chris Jericho & Chris Benoit VS The Dudley Boyz VS Edge & Christian VS The Hardy Boyz

SmackDown!: May 30, 2002 – Steel Cage Match – Edge VS Kurt Angle

RAW: February 28, 2005 – Street Fight – Edge VS Shawn Michaels

WrestleMania 21 – Money in the Bank Ladder Match

RAW: August 29, 2005 – Street Fight – Edge VS Matt Hardy

RAW: October 3, 2005 – Loser Leaves RAW Ladder Match – Edge VS Matt Hardy

New Year’s Revolution 2006 – Edge VS John Cena for the WWE Championship

WrestleMania 22 – Hardcore Match – Edge VS Mick Foley

RAW: July 3, 2006 – Edge VS John Cena VS Rob Van Dam for the WWE Championship

RAW: January 16, 2006 – TLC V – Edge VS Ric Flair for the WWE Championship

Unforgiven 2006 – TLC VI – Edge VS John Cena for the WWE Championship

WrestleMania XXIV – Edge VS The Undertaker for the World Heavyweight Championship

Royal Rumble 2010 – The Royal Rumble Match

WrestleMania XXVI – Edge VS Chris Jericho for the World Heavyweight Championship

Comment!

